Rant.

It feels as though all of my life I have been told I am wise and intelligent beyond my years. Teachers have always held me with higher expectations than others my age and grade. This gets tiring once I start to perform things the way anyone my age would and people become disappointed. I think that sometimes people forget that I am still a teenager. I’m only eighteen. I can’t always be expected to be mature and insightful. I still make mistakes. And because of the higher regard in which I am held, my shortcomings and mistakes appear like tragedy and devastation. I am just a kid. Allow me to react as such without making me feel like I’ve royally messed up. I honestly don’t know the point of this post. This is just something that has been bothering me lately.

2 thoughts on “Rant.

  1. That is wrong for them to expect so much over and beyond your age just because you are more intelligent. No one should be rushed into growing beyond their years, but it does happen too often. Slow them down and do not try to live up to others expectations. You need to only be true to your own. If you want to be silly and act like a child for a day, do it! You will not do well at anything if you live for others. Live your childhood. You have to be a grown-up for way too many years.

    Like

Leave a comment